Good Read

Spoonfeedin WOrld

Business – Kings XI Punjab gets innovative format to better spot talent

MUMBAI: IPL franchise Kings XI Punjab has commenced its activities for the upcoming IPL season with the second edition of the KXIP Cup, announced in Chandigarh. KXIP Cup focuses on promoting young and budding cricketers at the grassroot level in the KXIP catchment area.

The KXIP Cup is a T-20 tournament played in a round robin format comprising five teams. While in the last season, the teams consisted of players from the four state associations in the catchment area, this year the format has been enhanced wherein players are invited from across the country and teams have been handpicked to promote and encourage talent.

The teams are named KXIP Red, KXIP Blue, KXIP Green, KXIP Yellow and KXIP Sliver and are led by captains Uday Kaul, Reetendra Singh Sodhi, Vikramjeet Malik, Bipul Sharma and Tanmay Srivastava respectively.

Last year, three budding cricketers – Taruvar Kohli, Amanpreet Singh and Vikramjit Malik were spotted and got a chance to be part of the KXIP team. Shortlisted players from this year’s selection will go to the KXIP Academy, jointly promoted by PCA and the franchise.

Said Kings XI Punjab CEO Anil Srivatsa, “This tournament gives players who aspire to play for Kings XI Punjab, a chance to make their dreams come true. The objective is to spot and encourage talent at the grassroots level, giving them a once in a lifetime opportunity to share space with some of the best cricketers in the world. With a good balance of domestic and foreign players, we are all geared up and ready to take season III by storm.”

Added KXIP SVP & head of cricket operations Arvinder Singh, “KXIP Cup last year was a huge success in mining local talent and has now encouraged us to do it all over again this year. We expect this tournament to be as exciting and intense as last year and will provide young cricketers a platform to showcase their talent. We wish the players all the luck for this tournament.”

The tournament will be conducted in Chandigarh and Mohali over a period of six days starting 9 January 9, 2010 – 14 January


January 11, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: