Good Read

Spoonfeedin WOrld

Sport – Kimi Raikkonen biggest earner in Formula one

LONDON: Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen has been named Formula One’s biggest earner, pocketing nearly three times as much as the next best-paid driver. The
Finn’s 2009 salary is £27.35 million, according to a list published by Arabian Business magazine, dwarfing the £10.9m paid to outgoing world champion Lewis Hamilton.

Another former world champion, Renault’s Fernando Alonso took home £9.1m, with Williams’ Nico Rosberg surprisingly fourth ahead of Raikkonen team-mate Felipe Massa.

Raikkonen leaves Ferrari at the end of the season, when Alonso replaces him, and his massive pay demands explain his difficulty securing a drive for 2010, with McLaren and Toyota interested in his services. Newly crowned world champion Jenson Button earned ‘just’ £3.05m after taking a 50 per cent pay cut to drive for Brawn in 2009.

The Briton is in negotiations over a new deal with Brawn, and has a clause in his contract allowing him to leave if the team cannot restore his salary to its 2008 level.

Four drivers went unpaid – Kazuki Nakajima (Williams), Romain Grosjean (Renault) and Adrian Sutil and Vitantonio Liuzzi (both Force India F1) – went unpaid. Total salaries for F1 drivers totalled £81.9m, an average of £3.9m per driver.

List of F1 2009 driver salaries

1. Kimi Raikkonen £27.35m
2. Lewis Hamilton £10.9m
3. Fernando Alonso £9.1m
4. Nico Rosberg £5.15m
5. Felipe Massa £4.85m
6. Jarno Trulli £3.95m
7. Sebastian Vettel £3.65m
8. Mark Webber £3.35m
9. Jenson Button £3.05m
10. Robert Kubica £2.75m
11. Heikki Kovalainen £2.1m
12. Nick Heidfeld £1.7m
13. Timo Glock £1.2m
14. Giancarlo Fisichella £0.9m
15. Sébastien Buemi £0.9m
16. Rubens Barrichello £600,000
17. Jaime Alguersuari £300,000
18. Vitantonio Liuzzi £0
19. Adrian Sutil £0
20. Romain Grosjean £0
21. Kazuki Nakajima £0

What the F1 teams spent on drivers in 2009:

1. Ferrari £32.2m
2. McLaren-Mercedes £13.05m
3. Renault £9.1m
4. Red Bull Racing £7m
5. Toyota £5.15m
5. Williams £5.15m
7. BMW-Sauber £4.45m
8. Brawn GP £3.65m
9. Scuderia Toro Rosso £1.2m
10. Force India £900,000


October 31, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: