Good Read

Spoonfeedin WOrld

India – Congress wins Maharashtra, Arunachal; fractured verdict in Haryana

NEW DELHI: The Congress will form governments in Maharashtra and Arunachal, but appears to be heading for a fractured verdict in Maharashtra.

The Congress, along with its ally NCP, was poised to retain power in the 288-member Maharashtra assembly. The party position in 74 of the 288 Assembly seats in Maharashtra- Congress-NCP wins 41, Shiv Sena-BJP wins 24, MNS 03, Third Front 03, and Others 03. The Congress-NCP combine is also leading in a majority of seats.

The ruling Congress consolidated its position in Haryana bagging 32 of the 71 assembly seats declared and was leading in nine other places, but the state appeared headed for a fractured verdict.

Even if the party wins all the nine seats where it was leading, its tally would reach 41, five short of a simple majority in the 90-member House. But, still it could form the government with the help of over half a dozen independents and ‘others’.

INLD, which has so far won 25 seats and was ahead in six other places, has greatly improved over its performance of nine seats in 2005 assembly elections.

Akali Dal, which severed its ties with INLD ahead of the polls, made its debut in the House with its nominee Charanjit Singh winning the Kalanwali seat after defeating his nearest Congress rival Sushil Kumar Indora.

BJP, which had broken its pre-poll alliance with INLD fared badly winning two seats and leading at two other places.

Haryana Janhit Congress-BL won four seats and was leading at one, BSP won one and Independents and others won six seats and were leading in one constituency.

While INLD chief Om Prakash Chautala won the Uchana Kalan seat defeating finance minister Birender Singh by a margin of 621 votes, his son Ajay Chautala emerged victorious from Dabwali defeating his cousin K V Singh of Congress.

Haryana Congress chief Phool Chand Mullana and transport minister Mange Ram Gupta lost from Mullana and Jind to INLD.

Among other prominent winners are HJC-BL chief Kuldeep Bishnoi, who won the Adampur and Haryana BJP President Krishan Pal Gujjar, who was declared elected from Tigaon.

The ruling Congress continued its triumphant run in Arunachal Pradesh winning a majority of the seats in the state. Of the total 60 seats up for grabs, trends for 40 seats have been declared. Congress has won 28 seats and is leading in 7, BJP has won two seats and is leading in none, and the Trinamool Congress making its electoral debut in the state has won three seats and is ahead in two others. Other parties/Independents have won four seats.

Voting was held for 57 seats with three candidates already declared elected unopposed.

Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu and two more ruling Congress members were declared elected unopposed – sitting MLA Tsewang Dhondup from Tawang and debutant Jambey Tashi from Lumla.

Khandu was elected unopposed from the Mukto constituency in Tawang district, bordering China, in the 1999 and 2004 assembly elections.

Of the 23 seats declared so far, the Congress party won 17 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and the Trinamool Congress won a seat each. Three seats were won by independents and candidates of smaller regional parties.

According to latest trends, the Congress is leading in 12 seats, while the Trinamool Congress is ahead in two seats.

Trinamool Congress candidate Kamthok Lowang won the Khnosa East seat defeating Congress candidate and former minister T L Rajkumar by a just 455 votes, the only surprise result so far in the polls.

According to latest trends and results, Wangi Lowang of the Congress defeated his nearest NCP rival by 2,693 votes in the Namsang constituency, while Tapang Taloh of the Congress party won the Pangin seat by 2,781 votes defeating his NCP rival Kaling Jerang.

Karikho Kri of the ruling Congress has also been declared elected, defeating Trinamool Congress candidate Nakul Chai by 3,845 votes.

Voting for the 60-member assembly elections ended Oct 13 with an estimated 72 percent polling recorded out of a total of 7,50,000 voters.

A total of 154 candidates were in the fray with the ruling Congress party fielding candidates in all the 60 seats.

Apart from the Congress party, the NCP has fielded 36 candidates, the BJP 22, although the surprise element is the Trinamool Congress with 26 candidates in the fray.

Of the 28 candidates fielded by the Trinamool Congress, five are former Congress party ministers and 10 are sitting MLAs from the ruling party who were denied tickets this time.

The Congress-NCP alliance, which had won 140 seats in the last elections, may end up with almost the same figure and may not have problems in forming the government with the support of rebels of both the parties and independents.

Affected vastly by the presence of Raj Thackeray-led MNS, the Shiv Sena-BJP combine has managed to be ahead in only 84 seats, far behind its 2004 tally of 116 seats. Shiv Sena won 2 seats and was ahead in 41 seats, while BJP bagged one seat and was leading in 46 seats.

With NCP leader Chagan Bhujbal floating the idea of rotating the post of Chief Minister, senior Congress leader Vilasrao Deshmukh said there was no doubt about his party getting the Chief Ministership in Maharashtra

“Whatever the question raised, I think the issue has been clarified by NCP chief Sharad Pawar that the chief minister will be from Congress,” Deshmukh said.

He was responding to a question on Bhujbal’s idea of rotating the post of chief minister in Maharashtra between Congress and ally NCP.

“I don’t see any controversy on the issue in the wake of the clarification given by the NCP high command,” he said.

Maharashtra deputy chief minister Chhagan Bhujbal (NCP) was leading by 1,739 votes at the end of first round of counting at Yeola assembly constituency in Nashik district. His son Pankaj is leading in Nandgaon constituency.

In Alibaug, Peasants and Workers Party (PWP) candidate Meenakshi Patil is leading over Madhu Thakur of Congress after first three rounds of counting.

In Karjat constituency of Raigad district, Suresh Lad of NCP is ahead of Sena candidate Devendra Satam.
From Pen seat, Congress candidate Raviseth Patil is ahead of PWP candidate Dhairsheel Patil.

In Shrivardhan constituency, NCP’s Sunil Tatakare is leading over Shiv Sena candidate Tukaram Surve and in Mahad, Sena nominee Bharat Gogawale is ahead of NCP candidate Manik Jagtap.


October 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: