Good Read

Spoonfeedin WOrld

Entertainment – Q&A Nayan Thara

Your recent films have received a lukewarm response at the box-office. So, it seems a lot is riding on Aadhavan…
I consider all my films important, including Aadhavan. At the time of release of Villu and Aegan, the media said that their success was very crucial to me. Earlier, I used to be tense and anxious before the release of my films, but now, I am cool as I know that hits and misses are part of this profession and I take it in my stride and leave the rest to the audience.

What’s your role in the film?
I play Tara, a bubbly, fun loving, homely girl surrounded by a huge family of uncles, aunts, and cousins. My best friend and enemy is my paati played by Saroja Devi amma. There is a song that introduces all the characters and establishes the bonding between my grandmother and me. I loved shooting for that.

How was it working with Suriya in the film?
I think all heroes in Tamil are hard working and dedicated to their work. As far as Suriya goes, he makes an extra effort to take risks and is ready to do anything that will be good for his character. On the sets, he is silent and hardly speaks. I was very comfortable working with him.

Tell us about the song picturised in Iceland and your experience shooting in that climate…
Eno Eno… was picturised in Iceland. I think it’s one of the most picturesque locations I’ve ever seen, but at the same time, the weather conditions were very hostile. We went during summer and even then, there was ice all over. It’s so windy that you’ll literally be blown away. As we were shooting songs, I could not wear coats, jackets or inners, and I was freezing.

Are you looking for an image change from a glam girl to an actress of substance with Aadhavan and your Malayalam films?
Glamour girl? I think it’s the media that has given me this name. Of late, I have been criticised for being over-glamorous and keeping that in mind, I have tried to strike a fine balance between glamour and over glamour (smiles).

Rumours are afloat that you are doing a Kannada film and another one with noted Malayalam filmmaker Shyama Prasad…
I am not doing any Kannada film at the moment, but have signed the Malayalam film with Shyama Prasad, who is a wonderful director. I got hooked when I heard the script. You don’t get roles like this coming your way often. I’ve always wanted to do an offbeat film, but with a reputed director. I think the time has come, and here I am.

Your close association with Prabhu Deva has provided enough fodder for gossip. Prabhu’s wife Ramlath has given damaging interviews against you. What is your take?
No comments.

After Asin and Trisha, will Nayan go to Bollywood?
I hate this question. It is frequently asked to me these days. Is there any compulsion that if someone goes to Bollywood, I should follow suit? I know that every second actress from the south is trying for a break in Bollywood, and I am not in that rat race.

October 19, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

