Good Read

Spoonfeedin WOrld

Entertainment – Priyanka Chopra Article

It has been a whirlwind week that’s taken me not just across the country but across continents as well! My short holiday was quickly forgotten as I arrived home and rushed headlong into myriad activities for the promotion of my latest film, What’s Your Raashee?, which releases today!

As you sit reading this column, I will quite assuredly be a bundle of nerves. This has been my most challenging film to date and has encompassed my mind, body and soul over the six months of filming it. And now it is finally ready to showcase to the world and I’m nervous… as I always am… when the world gets ready to see my work. Every comment, remark and critique will have an impact on me, so you can quite understand my nerves!

Ashu Sir, Sunita (Gowarikar), Ronnie (Screwvala), Harman and I, premiered the film last weekend at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF). The energy and buzz in the city was quite something. But what made the long trip worth every mile, was the outpouring of love that we received during our stay in the city and at the premiere of our film. I have to thank the organisers of TIFF for staging such a wonderful event that has become a critical part of the film industry worldwide. We were in Toronto for just two days but managed to pack in quite a few things. The most exciting part for me was the chance to interact with fans, some of whom travelled long distances and others who waited for hours, just to show their support. It was overwhelming and my biggest regret was not being able to spend more time with them.

I don’t think I can rightly pen down the emotions that ran riot on the day of the premiere. As it is Toronto has a special place in my heart, because I shot some part of my first film here. And now, a few years later, here I was again, in the same city, premiering what is undoubtedly the most difficult film of my short career. It was a beautiful day… the sun was out and the weather was perfect. The roar of the crowds as we arrived at the beautiful Roy Thomson Hall for the premiere just took my breath away. That unadulterated showing of love boosted my nerves and gave me the courage to walk the red carpet and then address the audience who had come to see the film. When the lights dimmed and the film began, the entire WYR team held its breath in anticipation of the reaction. And Toronto didn’t disappoint… the entire theatre reacted so positively to the entire film… laughing, crying, clapping and everything in between. It was a surreal experience and one that I’m not likely to forget in a long while. And then I cried… because my mom, who was with me in Toronto, told me that she was so proud of what I had done in the film! It was truly icing on the cake. What followed was a tornado of activities that left us all physically exhausted but emotionally charged.

We’ve all put our heart, soul and blood into this film and I do hope you all will go to theatres this weekend and catch the film. I’d love to get your feedback, so please do write in to me once you’ve seen the film.

Write to me at priyanka.chopra@hindustantimes.com

September 25, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

